The Current War: Director's Cut

The Current War: Director's Cut poster
Three brilliant visionaries set off in a charged battle for the future in The Current War, the epic story of the cutthroat competition that literally lit up the modern world. Benedict Cumberbatch is Thomas Edison, the celebrity inventor on the verge of bringing electricity to Manhattan with his radical new DC technology. On the eve of triumph, his plans are upended by charismatic businessman George Westinghouse (Michael Shannon), who believes he and his partner, the upstart genius Nikola Tesla (Nicholas Hoult), have a superior idea for how to rapidly electrify America: with AC current. As Edison and Westinghouse grapple for who will power the nation, they spark one of the first and greatest corporate feuds in American history, establishing for future Titans of Industry the need to break all the rules. Directed by Alfonso Gomez-Rejon (Me and Earl and the Dying Girl) with Producer Timur Bekmambetov, Basil Iwanyk and Executive Producer Martin Scorsese, The Current War also stars ...

Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon
Writer: Michael Mitnick
Production: 101 Studios
Year: 2017
MetaScore: 55/100
ImdbRating: 6.4
BoxOffice: N/A
Released: 25 Oct 2019
Awards: N/A

Watch Full Movie on Amazon

Movie Video Clips

Movie Quotes

Movie Cast

Thomas Edison - Benedict Cumberbatch
Marguerite Westinghouse - Katherine Waterston
Gladys - Nancy Crane
Beti - Liza Ross
Maurice Manesburg - Tim Steed
George Westinghouse - Michael Shannon
Frederick Worthington - David Morley Hale
Annabelle Worthington - Amy Marston
Mr. Faulk - Robert Jezek
Emily Faulk - Abigail Johns
Reverend Vincent - Tom Bell
Elijah McCoy - Giles Terera
Mr. Burton - Samuel Dutton
Franklin Pope - Stanley Townsend
Young Dotty Edison - Sophia Ally
Mary Edison - Tuppence Middleton
Young Dash Edison - Woody Norman
Samuel Insull - Tom Holland
J.P. Morgan - Matthew Macfadyen
White House Butler - Dominic Coleman
President Chester A. Arthur - Corey Johnson
Nikola Tesla - Nicholas Hoult
Dorothy Brookes - Emma Davies
Doctor Grandoff - Nigel Whitmey
Lewis Latimer - Simon Manyonda
Hannah - Katy Poulter
Sherman Quincy - Celyn Jones
Reporter - Iain McKee
Journalist 1 - Ekow Quartey
Journalist 2 - Will Irvine
North Dakota Delegate - James Chalmers
New Orleans Investment Banker - Adam Pearce
Fort Worth Investment Banker - Toby Williams
Sioux City Investment Banker - Simon Connolly
Horace Kaden - Joseph Balderrama
Benjamin Vale - Harry Melling
Robert Lane - Craig Roberts
William Kemmler - Conor MacNeill
Warden Durston - Craig Conway
Womack - Simon Kunz
Pool Hall Local 1 - Nick Preston
Pool Hall Local 2 - Jake Davies
George W. Johnson (as Donovan F. Blackwood) - Donovan Blackwood
Confederate Soldier - Brendan Cowell
Photographer - Bob Karper
Furniture Seller - Sam Swann
Bourke Cockran - Damien Molony
Attorney General - Garrick Hagon
Rough Looking Man - Turlough Convery
Peter - Josh Finan
Francis Upton - Ben Mars
Academic - Brian Ferguson
Hotel Manager - Branwell Donaghey
Man in Elevator - George Potts
Daniel Burnham - Colin Stinton
Mr. Cannon - Simon Lowe
Schwab (as Philip Phillmar) - Philip Philmar
Mayor Creiger - Richard Glover
Older Dot - Evy Frearson
President Grover Cleveland - John Pierce Jones
Lunching Lady 1 (as Beti Gomez-Rejon) - Beti B. Gomes-Rejon
Lunching Lady 2 - Maite Gomez-Rejon
Autograph Son - Harry Moore
Autograph Father - Daniel Millar
Southwood Brown - Tom Fisher
Gentleman - Lasco Atkins
Westinghouse Secretary - Jed Aukin
Wabco Worker - Fares Boulos
Cinema Goer - Steve Carroll
City Gent - Andy Cockell
Hotel Guest - Pamela Betsy Cooper
Court Spectator / Train passenger / Gentleman's Club member - Nick Davison
Reporter - James Dearing
NYSE member - Steven I. Dillard
Coachman - Marc Esse
City Gentleman - Jesús Gallo
South Dakota Delegate - Greg Haiste
Gentleman - Ian Hearnshaw
Guest of Honour - Oscar Heron
City Gent - Phil Hodges
Scenic painter - Sam Hollobon
Stock Exchange Attendee - Ruth Horrocks
Policeman - Thor Janke
WABCO worker - Gary Kiely
Scientist - John Kinory
Wabco Worker - Adam Lazarus
Dakota Businessman - Saul Marron
Stock Broker - Jason Matthewson
Lawyer - Martyn Mayger
New York Stockbroker - Christopher McMullen
Henry Walsh - Kevin Millington
Wabco's wife - Catherine Monfils
Footman - Andrew Okello
Mr. Westinghouse's Secretary - Jeremy Oliver
Party Guest - Faye Ormston
Scientist - Mark Ryder
Emily Faulk - Abigail Sakari
George Westinghouse's secretary - Benjamin Schnau
Rudolph Young - John Schwab
Stock Exchange Woman - Janette Sharpe
Fat Cat - Richard Stanley
Boy - Tom Sweet
New York Death Committee Member - Roderick Swift
Stock Enchange Gent - Michael Yates